Not Just For Children (Part Deux)

INSTALLMENT #2: ASPIRING ASTRONAUTS UNITE!

If you don’t remember installment #1, check it out here.

I never wanted to be an astronaut. I think, even at a young and impressionable age, I knew an astronaut involved much more math than I felt comfortable with. I did want to go to Space Camp, but that’s beside the point. The point is, nobody laughed when a 5-year-old kid wanted to be an astronaut (wouldn’t it be cooler if they wanted to be an Cosmonaut?) or a lion tamer or any other job a kid could dream up. “You can be whatever you want to be.”

I still believe that.

I could say that my belief in that statement is possibly the reason I’m having so much trouble finishing school, but possibly isn’t the right word (insert “definitely” here). I want to be too many things and I believe that I can still be all of them, despite the tug of war I’m playing with time. Since I started college, I have had, or considered, the following majors: Political Science (original and current major), Film, Communications, Fashion, Sociology, Voice, and English.

What am I gonna do with Political Science, you ask? Teach, hopefully. I love teaching, and, without sounding too pompous, I think I’m a great teacher. I like to make a difference, I like to instill passion, I like to provoke intense thought, and I like having influence over others.

But I still indulge my other passions so as to appease any thought of converting back…because I REALLY need to graduate. I’m starting to feel discouraged, and that’s the last thing I need right now. So I make mini films, I communicate with others, I sew bags and skirts and design clothing lines, I observe and collect human behavior, I sing, and I write.

It’s writing that finally brings me to the main topic of this post. I love writing, but I had forgotten that love until my English class this semester. That class is actually the inspiration for this entire Rum Creeters thing (and boy am I glad Rachel, Steven, and Sara were on board). I have so much to say. Always. having an outlet for that makes me happy and even though I do all of those other things, this is the only appeasement I indulge in where I truly get that feeling of “I can be whatever I want to be.” I believe that I could be a writer. I believe that people would want to read what I have to say. I believe that, even though teaching is what I’m pursuing, being a writer isn’t out of the realm of possibilities.

So on that note…I’m excited to announce that I’m writing a book. It’s actually a series of short stories that are related and go together as one collective unit. I have been thinking about it for over 6 months and over that course of time, I have become extremely intimate with my 5 main characters. Recently, I decided to get the ball rolling, so I printed out Character Development Sheets so as to develop my characters’ backgrounds.

Failure.

I hated the tediousness of the questions, partly because I don’t need them. I already know my characters very well and it’s not necessary for me to see their profile in writing in order for them to have consistency. And partly because I don’t write like that, and I never have. Even on big assignments for school, I tend to avoid outlines and any other form of pre-determined structure. I just write and revise, write and revise.

Anyway, I don’t want to give any information away (because hopefully you will all read it one day…and hopefully Ruh-chel might consider editing it), but I just wanted to share my happiness with everyone. I’m going to be a writer (this is where you say, “You can be whatever you want to be”). Hey! Thanks for your words of encouragement!

Until next time, then.

-Erinspired

5 thoughts on “Not Just For Children (Part Deux)

  1. You can be whatever you want to be! And you can be a writer. I would love to edit your book for you, by the by. I remember you telling me about some ideas and characters you had, I’m not sure if it’s the same project. But I loved it. And I can pretty safely bet I’m going to love whatever you’re working on now.

    I love your designs, too. You are wonderful at bag and skirt making, and an inspiration to me. This is getting kind of gushy, but I sincerely mean all that I’m saying.

    Now I’m going to go watch the pilot of Twin Peaks.

  2. P.P.S. Over the summer I found our copy of Space Camp (the movie from ’86) that we taped on TV way back in the day. I love all our taped videos, especially because of the commercials (which you and I talked about earlier today, Ebo).

    …Some days I wish it were the 1980s again. There are people at my school who never saw a day of the 80s in their life, and it makes me weep for them.

  3. Although I have been supportive of your many goals over the years, I must admit that I am secretly very glad you have settled on teacher once again. (Well, not so secretly since I just told you.) You will make an exceptional teacher, my friend. A very exceptional teacher.

    I look forward to your book. You know those books that you read over and over again because they are so good? I think you will write that kind of book. You are super creative and an excellent story-teller. I can not wait to read it. :)

Leave a Reply

