I’m so happy cause I’m a Gummy Bear.

I’ve never considered myself a “cool” person, and that doesn’t bother me in the least bit. But there are some occasions when I feel really cool. It’s usually when I find a great locals-only place that I fit nicely into. Or when someone makes an obscure reference and I’m the only one to get it. Or when I stumble across a hidden musical treasure and get to spread its joy.

An extremely random string of outrageous coincidences landed me with some free (and overly amazing) music yesterday. Music that I will be sure to include in a future edition of Mix Tape Tuesday. I felt so cool being a part of a small group of people who are “in,” so to speak, with this band.

Another person “in” with the same band coincidentally is someone I know from a different aspect of my life. Strange? Odd? Freaky, more like. This coincidence got me thinking about 6 degrees of separation. Connect two people in 6 steps. I used to play this when I was younger with a girl who lived a few doors down from me. We would choose two celebrities and connect them together in 6 steps. The trick is actually getting it in 6 because sometimes you can get it in 1 or 2, but you have to make it work with 6.

Example: Connect Madonna and Britney Spears. Easy, right? They made out, for the love of crying out loud! But that’s only 1 step. Here’s one possible answer:

  1. Madonna was in Evitawith Antonio Banderas
  2. Antonio Banderas is married to Melanie Griffith
  3. Melanie Griffith was in Now and Then with Rosie O’Donnel
  4. Rosie O’Donnel had Christina Aguilera on her show
  5. Christina Aguilera toured with Justin Timberlake
  6. Justin Timberlake dated Britney Spears

See? Fun, right?

Then Kevin Bacon claimed to have worked with everyone in Hollywood and the game morphed into 6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon. Can you connect yourself to Kevin Bacon in 6 steps? I can:

  1. I have an “uncle” named Moose
  2. My “uncle” Moose went to school with John Ritter
  3. John Ritter was in 8 Simple Rules… with Katey Segal
  4. Katey Segal was in That ’70s Show with Ashton Kutcher
  5. Ashton Kutcher is married to Demi Moore
  6. Demi Moore was in A Few Good Men with Kevin Bacon

OR

  1. I took Theory of Knowledge with Lyle Higger
  2. Lyle Higger used to tease Dustin Hoffman when they were younger
  3. Dustin Hoffman was in Rainman with Tom Cruise
  4. Tom Cruise was in Magnolia with Phillip Seymour Hoffman
  5. Phillip Seymour Hoffman was in Charlie Wilson’s War with Tom Hanks
  6. Tom Hanks was in Apollo 13 with Kevin Bacon

And now, because you have read this and now have a connection with me, you can try to shorten the end of the list and connect yourself to Kevin Bacon as well.

The idea that everyone in the world is connected by six degrees really intrigued me. I wonder what kind of wonderful people there are that I might easily be connected to.

There’s definitely no point to this post except to tell you that you’re in for a great musical treat in a couple weeks, to give you a new game to play while driving or while waiting in line for an attraction at Disneyland, and to share a video with you because a lot of rather stupid things give me the most joy and make me laugh the hardest, and this is one of them:

Thank God for Robot Chicken.

-Erincandescent Light

One thought on “I’m so happy cause I’m a Gummy Bear.

  1. Hahahahaha! My friend told me about that Robot Chicken sketch. He explained it as “a gummy bear frolicking along singing how happy he is, like in some sort of Teletubbies kids show. Then he steps into a bear trap, and gives the most bloodcurdling scream….It’s pretty awesome.”

    Fun entry, Ebo! I like doing the 6 steps game, too. I also like doing the “this actor was in this movie, which also had that actor, and they were both also in that movie, with this other actor who was in this other movie with the first actor…” which I guess is sort of an infinite web game, rather than anything linear or precise.

    -R

    P.S. I totally forgot about Higger teasing Dustin Hoffman! Ah, that makes me happy. I love Dustin Hoffman. But, of course, I would. He’s Jewish.

Leave a Reply

