Multisensory Extravaganza!

Darling Creeter Readers,

I thought I’d share some videos this week. Because I can. What are these videos, you ask? All in due time, my friends, all in due time… (Or I suppose you can just scroll to the bottom and watch them now, if you’re so inclined.)

But before I get to the festivities, I’m going to recommend some books. While thinking up something to write for today, I realized I hadn’t yet recommended any novels. That’s a tragedy I must correct, since my modus operandi seems to be talking about other people’s art that’s influenced me rather than actually coming up with something inside myself to spout. I hate that last sentence, but I’m forcing myself to leave it alone. Not quite sure why.

Anyway. This is a list of fairly recent books, because I had noticed my reading was rather lacking in contemporary fiction. I always loved the novels I read in English classes, and I loved the books that were on my brothers’ or parents’ shelves, but I hadn’t really just gone to a bookstore and seen what was out there. Well, I guess this is still the case, because most all of these books are from my more recent English classes. But at least they were written within the last decade or so. If you have the means, I highly suggest picking these up:

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi (I have yet to see the film, but the graphic novel is amazing. Make sure you get both volumes, of course.)
Blindness by José Saramago
Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
Monkey Bridge by Lan Cao
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

More to come later, as I remember or as I read them.

I just now decided to throw in some food suggestions, as well. Because I’m already offering stuff to read, watch and listen to. Might as well add stuff to taste and smell, while I’m at it:

-Sticky toffee pudding from The Olde Ship. If you’re in the Fullerton or Santa Ana area in Southern California, make sure to stop by the British pub and order the best dessert I’ve ever had. They have two locations, so if you live in California you have no excuse not to stop by at least once.
-Mother’s Cookies. Stock up on ’em now, if you can find ’em. Sadly, Mother’s has gone bankrupt. This is depressing for two reasons: obviously, because future generations won’t have the opportunity to eat those yummy Circus Animal or Frosted Oatmeal cookies; secondly, and more close to home, because my uncle worked for Mother’s.
-Jambalaya. I’m craving some real jambalaya right now; the kind my grandpa and mom make. I can’t bring myself to eat the stuff the cafeteria calls jambalaya, because it so very clearly isn’t.
-Bierox. My mom doesn’t make bierox very often, but when she does my heart smiles. I mostly associate it with St. Patrick’s Day, because that’s usually when she makes it, even though it’s actually German. It’s a pastry bread type thing stuffed with beef, onions, cabbage, and seasoning. It’s fantastic with mustard.

And now on to the tunes!

These are the videos for my favorite Dan Le Sac Vs. Scroobius Pip songs. They’re a British hip hop duo that have been making some “this stuff is neat and crosses music barriers” waves. I generally don’t listen to hip hop or rap, but will make some exceptions (The Streets, for example, who also happens to be British).

For the best viewing quality, you should probably go to the actual YouTube site to watch it. Didn’t think of that when I put all three of them on here. Oh well. For the non-internet savvy: you can click on the box in the far right bottom corner of the video to bring up the menu, then copy and paste the URL to get to the original YouTube page.

Look for the Woman:


This is probably my favorite video. It reminds me of Wings of Desire, the beautiful German film that inspired City of Angels. I kinda think Scroobius Pip should always go around wearing angel wings. Just a suggestion. But I’ll settle for just the rabbi beard and skinny tie…

Thou Shalt Always Kill:


The term “kill” here is slang for “be awesome.” As in, “That set really killed. Good job.” Some of my favorite lyrics from this are: “Thou shalt not use poetry, art or music to get into girls pants. Use it to get into their heads”; “Thou shalt give equal worth to tragedies that occur in non-English speaking countries as to those that occur in English speaking countries”; and the whole “just a band” bit.

Letter from God to Man:


The end of this song always gives me the chills. It samples Radiohead’s “Planet Telex” from The Bends, in case you were wondering why you recognized it. Anyway, I love the lyrics and I love the way he says them. The theology isn’t accurate, but that’s not the point of the song. It really isn’t about God or whether you believe in Him, it’s about the destruction humans have wrought on planet earth and on each other.

So, that’s my entry for today. Sorry if it’s not your cup of tea, but there’s always next week.

Love,
Rachel

(No clever signing off this time, sorry.)

3 thoughts on “Multisensory Extravaganza!

  1. Here’s what I loved about the first video:
    “overthinking is the chink in my armor”

    Here’s what I loved about the second video:
    “thouh shalt not judge lethal weapon by danny glover” – a very valid piont.
    “when I say hey thou shalt not say ho” – a very funny point
    “thou shalt not spell phoenix P-H-E-O-N-I-X instead of P-H-O-E-N-I-X, regardless of what the Oxford English dictionary says” – this basically sums up all the fun I have with mistakes in the English language. I love people who spell things wrong, especially on signs for everyone to see. I once saw a yard sale sign that, no joke, said “Yeard Sale.” Classic.

    And the third video? Wow. I wish there was always a little kid in a dinosaur costume to bring reason to the world.

    Thank you for ALL of your suggestions. Sorry to hear about Mother’s and your uncle, by the by.

  2. wow, this post contains so much awesomeness that my comment will have to be presented in list form…

    1. The Olde Ship is amazing. I also recommend their bread pudding.

    2. Mother’s Cookies gone???? Why was I not informed? Those cookies were one of the top 10 reasons for living!

    3. I had no idea anyone’s mom other than my own made Bierox… and then ate them with Mustard. wow. That brings back some memories…

    4. Those videos are epic. For the Win. Thanks for sharing them.

    that is all.

Leave a Reply

