Mix Tape Tuesday – Nonpop Pop

It’s not pop. But it’s what all the cool kids are listening to.
…So it’s pop.
Indie style, I suppose. Some of them are a bit old (by pop [and nonpop pop] standards), but they’re all from the new millennium, so I still count them as recent.

I’m 21. I have been for about half a year now, actually, but I chose to do 21 songs for this Mix Tape since it’s all about hip new things that hip new people listen to. Not that I’m hip, or even new (I’ve been told I have the soul of a grandma; I chose to take that as a compliment, probably proving the point), but I like to see what’s out there. And these are my findings, at least the ones I’ve taken an interest in.

You might have noticed by now that I sometimes repeat artists I’ve had on other Mix Tapes. Sorry about that. I’ll try to shake it up some more in the future.

Mix Tape Tuesday – Nonpop Pop

1. Up All Night – Young Knives

2. Devil’s Crayon – Wild Beasts

3. Why Do You Let Me Stay Here – She & Him

4. London Bridge – This is Ivy League

5. Forever Heavy – Black Moth Super Rainbow

6. Oh What a World – Rufus Wainwright

7. Postcards from Italy – Beirut

8. Letter from God to Man – Dan le Sac Vs. Scroobius Pip

9. Ottoman – Vampire Weekend

10. Na Na Na Na Naa – Kaiser Chiefs

11. Troubled Waters – Cat Power

12. The Denial Twist – The White Stripes

13. I’m Afraid of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf – Murder by Death

14. They Are Night Zombies!! They Are Neighbors!! They Have Come Back From the Dead!! Ahhhh! – Sufjan Stevens

15. Apocalypse Please – Muse

16. Five Years – Seu Jorge

17. The Widow – The Mars Volta

18. No Hiding Place – Elvis Costello & The Imposters

19. I Turn My Camera On – Spoon

20. On Your Wings – Iron & Wine

21. I Love You – Esser

2 thoughts on “Mix Tape Tuesday – Nonpop Pop

  1. Wow! I’m a little thrown off because my next playlist was going to have Beirut, She & Him, Iron & Wine, Sufjan Stevens, and Cat Power. And one of the songs was the same song. (Why does Beirut have to be so effing awesome?!) So I guess I will have to pick a new Beirut song…and wait on my playlist…since it was indie based as well.

    Sometimes you freak me out with how “right there” you are with me.

    Great playlist. Can’t wait to burn it and add it to my Mix Tape Tuesday CD collection.

  2. Seu Jorge is my hero!

    And the title of that Sufjan Stevens song is possible my favorite title for a song in the whole world. it is cool to the power of infinity.

Leave a Reply

