There was a fish in the percolator!

Sorry I’m a few days late with my post, but….well, I have no excuse. I just forgot. And then when I did think about it, I thought I already did one this week. Because the time is just flying by too dang fast. And not the good “huzzah, this semester is almost over!” dang fast, but the stressful “crap, all my essays and projects are due!” dang fast.

Anyway, since nothing from my life during this past week seems to jump to mind as particularly interesting, I’ll fall back on my default setting of Rachel the Recommender. Considering my love affair with alliteration, I’ll change that title to Ravishing Rachel the Recommender. Even better, Ravishing Rachel the Rambunctious Recommender.

If you never watch television because it is nothing but clichéd, mind-numbing drivel that shortens people’s attention spans—more power to ya. I don’t claim to be anti-TV because, let’s face it, I’ve spent way too much of my life in front of one. But I have tremendous respect for those who are, because I understand that so much of television is a waste of time. However, there are a few (and only a very select few)
series that are so creative, so cinematic, so bound-to-be-canceled-before-their-time that I recommend them even to those who make it a point to avoid the tube. Most of the time they are so cutting edge because they are stylistically daring, and depart from the conventional television format.

Perhaps I will start a series of posts dedicated to this short list, and I’ll kick it off tonight with a murder mystery soap opera from the early 1990s.

That’s right, I’m talking about Twin Peaks. I might have mentioned this show in a comment on here somewhere, but it deserves a full entry. It was created by the great David Lynch and Mark Frost, which means it inherently has a unique way of telling its story. Lynch is a filmmaker with an incredible visionary gift, and each episode of Twin Peaks has his imprint, even when he’s not the one directing or writing it.

Brief synopsis, for those of you who like to know plotwise what you’re getting into: Twin Peaks is a fictional small town in the state of Washington, near the Canadian border. The pilot begins with the discovery of Laura Palmer, local beauty queen, found dead. FBI Agent Dale Cooper is sent to the town to investigate, due to the mysterious nature of her murder, which is similar to another case he’s been working on. Throughout the series (which was only two seasons) the overlying question is: Who killed Laura Palmer?

Don’t let my reference to the show as a murder mystery soap opera turn you off, it is not the kind of murder mystery nor the kind of soap opera that you find on daytime television. The world Lynch and Frost create is bizarre. Every aspect of the show contributes to its ambience—the quirky townspeople, the setting, the cinematography, the music—they are all simultaneously beautiful and haunting, frightening and compelling.

And it doesn’t take itself too seriously. There is a wonderfully childlike humor to the absurdity that runs rampant in Twin Peaks, yet none of that undermines the intensity of the show, either. In any given episode there are genuine moments of hilarity and heartbreak, tenderness and terror.

If you plan on watching this show, either for the first time or for another go-around, I highly suggest picking up the Definitive Gold Box edition. It has both seasons, the pilot episode (which for some reason isn’t included in the regular first season package), and wonderful extras.

Well, that concludes my very late (but still very heartfelt) entry. Much love to all you Creeter Readers.

-Ravishing Rachel the Rambunctious Recommender

3 thoughts on “There was a fish in the percolator!

  1. I remember when you first told me you started watching Twin Peaks. I was elated! Thank you for writing a post that captures the show’s brilliance.

    I think I shall call you Radiantly Ravishing Rachel the Roaringly Rambunctious Recommender.

    (By saying “radiantly,” I am not comparing you to Wilbur. I just wanted to make that clear. There are no spiders trying to keep you from the slaughter. That I know of, anyway.)

  2. Your lovely cousin and I have decided that we’re not going to have TV in our place once we get married. But we will have a TV, for movies and and TV shows on DVD. That’s the other thing–why watch TV on TV, when you have to watch it when it’s on and sit through commercials, when you can just get shows on DVD and watch four episodes at a time whenever you want with no commercials?

    I’ve never heard of Twin Peaks but perhaps we’ll add it to our Netflix queue when we start it up….

  3. I don’t know if I discovered before or after our more frequent correspondence, but I love this song and it reminds me of you somehow.

    Not only did the title of your blog remind me of the song (because many things seem to remind me of this song) but something about it seems inherently Rachel… I don’t know, it might just be me.

    The Refrigerator part is my favorite. It might be because it reminds me of one of my childhood favorite books “Chicka Chicka Boom Boom”

Leave a Reply

