“I’ve said too much but I was old before my time”

-The Frames

I trust everyone had a pleasant and safe New Years.  Although my trust is often misplaced.  Not in you, of course.  In them.  Whomever they may be.

If ErinHoover gets a hold of this or of any of you, I should wish to speak with her.

Well, now that all the pleasantries are in order, I have decided not to make any resolutions this year.  I thought you should know first as I think resolutions are a silly thing.  With a capitol ILLY.

I have always felt older than I really am.  I suppose it could be the premature male-pattern baldness, or the beard that started coming in when I was in 7th grade (yes, that would have made me 13), I’m not sure.  But I have.  It reminds me somewhat of the movie Patton. 

             [Thank you IMDB.com] [Visiting an ancient battlefield]
Patton: The Carthaginians defending the city were attacked by three Roman legions. The Carthaginians were proud and brave but they couldn’t hold. They were massacred. Arab women stripped them of their tunics and their swords and lances. The soldiers lay naked in the sun. Two thousand years ago. I was here.

I dont know why.  Maybe it happens to everyone.  But I feel ancient.  No, not like your grandmother.  Literally ancient.  I am starting to believe in the idea of reincarnation.  Not of human to cat to fern.  But death and rebirth over and over.  My brother presented to me the idea that this is so until one lives a great life.  At this point, the soul/energy fades or dies or can finally die.  When you have become Mother Theresa or Martin Luther King and been someone of significant positive influence.  I’m thinking perhaps an infinite cycle of death and rebirth.

I sometime have memories that are not mine.  Dreams of people I do not know.  Good and bad.  And it makes me think…

2 thoughts on ““I’ve said too much but I was old before my time”

Leave a Reply

