Someone thought they saw her Sunday/Window shopping in the rain…

I try to avoid shopping on Sundays if at all possible. “Day of rest” doesn’t exactly coincide with consumerism and mad crowds. But yesterday my dear mother left me a pleading note before she left for work, asking if I could pick up milk and bread. Who can say no to a pleading mother?

There’s a grocery store just down the street from my house, so on my way home from church, I pulled in and walked to the doors, realizing almost immediately that – argh! – the store only opened at noon and there were still some minutes to go. I contemplated leaving, but am so glad I decided to stay, because I then had the privilege of being part of a phenomenon I had no idea existed up until yesterday at 11h55.

At first it was just me and a scruffy looking guy waiting around outside the doors (his “beard” – aka his scary black scruff – definitely covered not only his face, his neck, and his chest, but I think started creeping around to the backs of his knees as well), and I was hit several times with that paranoid thought that the doors were actually open and I was just standing around like a fool, assuming they were locked. I surreptitiously crept closer to the automatic door. It did nothing automatic. I resumed my place a few paces away from El Scruff.

Then, three too-cool-for-school teenagers came, a guy and 2 girls, 2 of them obviously desperately in love and showing it in their over-pitched mockery and shoving of each other. Next a middle-aged man with three small children and a teenager with an obvious German accent, digital camera in hand, soaking  up the touristic wonders of a Rexall parking lot. A harried woman in a business suit… an elderly woman led by her daughter… a disappointed twenty-something, dressed in gangsta gear and clearly wishing he could hook up with the German girl…

Before I knew it, a microcosm of society had gathered outside the store, and when the doors were finally unlocked by a resigned Sunday employee, the sighs of relief and shuffling of snow-caked boots was our version of a racous cheer.

Sunday shopping. If you’re ever feeling disonnected from society, there’s your cure.

 
p.s. I’m wearing leg-warmers today.

2 thoughts on “Someone thought they saw her Sunday/Window shopping in the rain…

  1. Oh boy… the microcosm of the world that is the grocery store. Unfortunately, where I’ve always lived, the grocery store is usually where all the washed-up elements of the world go—the mothers who had their first kid when they were fifteen, the old people whose friends have all died and whose families don’t care about them anymore, the married couple who is only still married because they can’t afford a divorce… and so on. I usually end up feeling miserable when I go to the grocery store. Or Wal-Mart. So I just pay for the overpriced stuff on campus instead, generally.

  2. Huzzah for leg warmers!

    And that is such a great scene. I love it when life kind of just hits you in the face with its unusual normality. (Yes, I know that’s a contradiction in terms, but that’s how I feel—the everyday which no one seems to notice as significant, yet even the commonality of it is remarkable).

Leave a Reply

