If you find yourself caught in love

It has been an eventful week for relationships – keeping up, breaking up, moving up, growing up – and a common comment that I have heard this week is this :

 I hate Valentine’s Day.

I have always loved Valentine’s Day. Ever since my first red and pink construction-paper-covered Kleenex mailbox perched jauntily on the corner of my first-grade desk, I have been smitten by heart-dotted is and Lilliputian envelopes.  It may be the colours, the message-bearing candy, the impractical tiny cards, or just the encircling sweetness of the day, but all I know is that if I had a permanent desk in university, there would still be a Kleenex-box balanced on its corner, in hopeful anticipation of miniature deliveries.

I am confused by the thought that people not in a relationship should for some reason be depressed by the thought of Valentine’s Day. Aren’t we all “in a relationship”? What would life be without relationships? Sending silly cards and foil-wrapped chocolates to my sister, my best friend, the person with the locker next to mine is in no way more or less significant or amusing than sending them to the individual you happen to suck faces with.

Valentine’s Day, as far as I can figure, is about silliness. And that happens to be something I am very good at, both when I’m sucking face, and when I’m not.  

If you find yourself caught in love
Say a prayer to the man above
Thank him for everything you know
You should thank him for every breath you blow
If you find yourself caught in love

Say a prayer to the man above
You should thank him for every day you pass
Thank him for saving your sorry ass…

One thought on “If you find yourself caught in love

  1. I, too, enjoy the silliness. By the by, I love your line “that happens to be something I am very good at, both when I’m sucking face, and when I’m not.” Haha.

    <3

Leave a Reply

