Mix Tape Tuesday – Kick-Ass Guitar Riffs

Even though I got a new job, I still get paid to make Mix CDs for my old work. The most current theme is “songs that have a great, and recognizable, guitar riff at the beginning.” Each person in the office chose a song, and now I’m putting it all together to make a great CD. Here is a playlist of the songs chosen:

Mix Tape Tuesday Kick-Ass Guitar Riffs

  1. Stairway to Heaven – Led Zeppelin
  2. Do Ya – Electric Light Orchestra
  3. Layla – Derek & the Dominos
  4. Back in Black – AC/DC
  5. Bad to the Bone – George Thoroughgood
  6. Barracuda – Heart
  7. Carry On My Wayward Son – Kansas I know, I know…it doesn’t START with a guitar riff…but they let her keep it anyway.
  8. Crazy On You – Heart This is my choice!
  9. Gloria – Them
  10. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction – the Rolling Stones
  11. Johnny B. Goode – Chuck Berry
  12. Le Grange – ZZ Top
  13. Oh Pretty Woman – Roy Orbison
  14. Purple Haze – Jimi Hendrix
  15. Smoke on the Water – Deep Purple 
  16. Sunshine of Your Love – Cream
  17. The Unforgiven – Metallica
  18. Walk This Way – Aerosmith
  19. Who Are You – the Who
  20. You Really Got Me – the Kinks

-Erin a hurry

6 thoughts on “Mix Tape Tuesday – Kick-Ass Guitar Riffs

  1. Sunshine of Your Love always makes me think of Freaks & Geeks. And you can’t beat a bit of ELO.
    Another great list, Ebo. Congratulate the people in the office. Haha. Which one is yours, by the by?

  2. RACHEL: Oh yeah! Freaks & Geeks! One of the best shows to ever grace television. My choice was “Crazy On You.” I feel like you get two great opening guitar riffs in one (acoustic and electric).

    SARA: Corporate Orange County where the big boss man is a music fanatic. Too bad you’re in Canada (though not really…because I LOVE Canada).

    JAMIE: Oh the Voodoo Lounge.
    I actually got to see all of my covers hung album size in the lounge. I couldn’t have asked for a better legacy to leave.

  3. Gotta vote for ZZ Top and La Grange just because I used to eat the world’s best chicken fried steak there and because it’s the home of the… well, the Chicken Ranch. Marvin Zindler shut it down, but ZZ’ll keep it alive forever.

  4. Man, I just listened to this again and had to come back to say once more how awesome this Mix Tape is. I’ve missed listening to classic rock…

Leave a Reply

