A Wednesday post? On Time, you say?

I’m going to an STD conference over Spring Break! Yesssssssss!

Okay, STD (in this case, at least) stands for Sigma Tau Delta, so don’t feel like you need to ply me with condolences just yet. Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society, of which I’m a member, and the conference is in Minneapolis next week. I submitted a short story, it was accepted, and now I’m going to the conference to read it. Aloud. To other people. It’s kind of exciting.

And one of the main speakers at the STD (teehee) shindig is Neil Gaiman. That’s right, Neil frakking Gaiman. He was on the Colbert Report recently, which made my heart smile more than usual (and, let me tell you, it smiles a lot….especially during the Colbert Report).

Well, I best be leaving soon; I have two papers to finish (ugh)—on The Brothers Karamazov and Lolita (yea). I gotta say, I love me some Russian authors. Although, my paper on Brothers K is about the anti-Semitism in Dostoevsky’s works. For shame, Dostoevsky. For shame. He was a great writer, though. I highly recommend Crime & Punishment. In turns it made me shed tears and laugh aloud—and there were a couple passages that were genuinely frightening. Seriously, I had flashbacks of the more disturbing scenes from Twin Peaks (Bob, anyone?).

All right, I guess this is good night. I’m flying up to Minnesota next Wednesday, so I don’t know if I’ll have a post up. We’ll see.

Until next time, my lovelies,

R

4 thoughts on “A Wednesday post? On Time, you say?

  1. What an unfortunately awesome name for the English fraternity. I was in STD in college and it was always fun to tell people I had to go to an STD meeting…even though, I guess the correct term is STI now. Enjoy!

  2. Wow! Congrats :D Have fun flying and speaking. Practice your nervous laugh so at least if it makes it’s way out it’ll sound good ;)

  3. Congratulations! What a fun trip, and what a neat experience. Do we get to know anything about the story???

    I just had my first experience of reading my own work aloud – details and a link to the broadcast in my current blog. It’s your chance to see what a “shoreacres” looks and sounds like!

    Have a wonderful trip, and enjoy every minute!

Leave a Reply

