Lots of planets have a North!

(That title really has nothing to do with this entry, I suppose, I just wanted to say it because I’ve been watching the first series of the new Doctor Who and that line always makes me smile, if not giggle. After all, Christopher Eccleston was my first Doctor. And you never forget your first Doctor. So even though he only had that one year, I’m quite fond of Nine. I know most of you probably don’t know what I’m talking about, so suffice it to say Doctor Who is an epic British sci-fi program that started in 1963, ended in 1989, had a tv movie in 1996, and was relaunched—as a continuation, not a remake—in 2005. And I am geekily in love with it. Now on with the stuff I actually meant to write…)

As I write this entry, it is Tuesday afternoon on March the 24, 2009. I’m posting this with a time-delay so I can make my Wednesday post on time (twice in a row, now that’s an accomplishment!). I’ve never used the “publish at a scheduled future time” thing before, so this should be fun. Because for some reason I always find things I’ve never done before fun. (That’s not strictly true, but I’m saying it nevertheless; by the by, “nevertheless” is my dad’s favorite word and I don’t blame him.)

I’ve heard some cries for the story I’m reading at the aforementioned STD conference. (If you’re somewhat confused about that sentence, you may want to check out my entry from last week). I’d be happy to email it to any friends who ask, and I might give a snippet of it here. I’m debating whether or not I want it on The Interwebs, though, where anything might happen to it.

It’s time for me to start packing for good ol’ MN now, so I gotta cut this post short. I’ll use my last few sentences to recommend Mark Z. Danielewski’s book House of Leaves to anyone interested in experimental fiction that gets under your skin (in a good way) and makes you afraid of closets. It’s the kind of novel that makes you angry you didn’t get a chance to write something like it first, because now your ideas will never be original. Damn you, Danielewski. And well done.

Love (as always),
Your Wednesday Host
Rachel

P.S. I just realized I voiced concern about my fiction being on the internet in the same post that I recommended a novel that gained a cult following and became an immediate best seller beccause of its gradual release over the internet. Oh well.

5 thoughts on “Lots of planets have a North!

  1. Rachel ~ Would be happy to have a copy of the story, just because I mostly don’t read fiction and ought to, and it would be fun to start with yours.

    I’ve fussed about the pros and cons of writing on the web for some time. Some folks tell me don’t do it – not a word. Others say it’s the best way to build a following. Here are a couple of practical tips to think about:

    1. Many publications will not publish anything that’s been previously published. Some consider personal blogs “publishing” and some don’t.

    2. If you’re going to put stuff on the web that you’re really fond us, use a service like My Free Copyright. If you’re really serious, look into the Writers Guild of America registration service. If you just wrote the Great American Novel, keep it off the web until your publisher puts up snippets with reviews, your bio and a hawt photo.

    There are a bunch of links and good discussion in my post on content theft: http://shoreacres.wordpress.com/2009/03/02/content-theft-it-matters-to-me/

  2. Ebo: Did he get that from “Dead Like Me”? And did Mr. Higger ever tell your class his favorite word was “poignant”? I still don’t know what mine is…

    AJ: You’ve read an older version of this story, but I’ve made a few changes since then. I’d like to know what you think about them. Email, away!

    Linda: Thank you so much for offering the great discussion on your post! I’m definitely taking free copyright or WGA registration into consideration. Also thanks for the Doctor Who link! I’d love to send you my story, but I’m afraid I don’t know an email I can reach you at.

Leave a Reply

