Wake up, your time is nearly over / No more the supernova / And no action guaranteed

Not a lot of time.

Just realized there are only four weeks left in the semester, and I need to make sure I pass all my classes (sadly, I’ve gone from “get good grades in” to “pass” over the course of my college education) because it looks like (if I play my cards right, or at least get my papers written) I can graduate by this summer.

Which means not having to take an extra semester.

It also means I probably won’t see a lot of my friends again after these four weeks, since none of them will be taking summer classes with me and, let’s be honest, I’m atrocious at keeping in touch.

Back when I thought I would be here in the Fall, this semester seemed like a black hole that sucked the life out of me, and no end in sight. Now I feel I can actually make it, which is great, but at the same time makes me realize I never put much thought into how I would say goodbye. All the other seniors already have their caps and gowns, their graduate school acceptance letters, their GRE results (holy crap, how did I let that pass me by?).

I wonder how awful it’s going to be taking the GRE after I’ve already graduated and been out of classes for a while. Thankfully most of the programs I’m applying to either don’t require GRE scores or don’t look at them too closely. On the down side, that’s only because the weight of their decision is based on the writing sample. Which means I better have cream-of-the-crop, can’t-let-this-one-go, slap-your-mammy-down awesome stories ready for my applications.

I’m getting a little dizzy.

-Rachel

P.S. Current reading list:
The Plot Against America by Philip Roth
Perelandra by C.S. Lewis
Henderson the Rain King by Saul Bellow
-The Book of Revelation
plus various journal articles and books on the topics of:
-Humbert Humbert as unreliable narrator in Nabokov’s Lolita
-Dostoevsky as anti-Semite in Notes from Underground, Crime & Punishment, and The Brothers Karamazov

6 thoughts on “Wake up, your time is nearly over / No more the supernova / And no action guaranteed

  1. You will prevail!

    Yaay for Tears for Fears! Everybody Loves a Happy Ending is actually one of my favorite!

  2. You can do it! Rock on!

    Re: your reading list. Props on Perelandra and Revelation. I can’t comment on the rest. And though many disagree with me, I still think the unman in Perelandra is one of the creepiest characters written. *shudder*

  3. GRE is overrated. i never took it. never. probably never will. who needs a masters when everyone’s apocal-tastic?
    :-)

Leave a Reply

