Come take my pulse, the pace is on a runaway train

I missed my last week’s post, it’s true, but I did some mental arithmetic and calculated that in the last 4 weeks, I had 7 exams, 7 labs, 4 presentations, 2 quizzes and a research presentation, as well as a partridge in a pear tree. 8 of the above took place in the last 8 days. Therefore, I felt somewhat justified missing my post.

However, I feel even more justified (and far less lame) in my reason for missing yesterday’s post! I had an exam in the morning, and then I went shopping with mi madre for essentials (like gummy cola bottles and gum) before I leave on Thursday to travel to the land of the free and home of the brave. Upon arriving home after shopping, with no thoughts in my head other than the necessity of a nap and then furious studying for my next exam, I received an urgent call from le chum.

Metric was in my humble hometown, playing a secret show at a cabaret. The only way to see said show was to have your name put on the guest list… which le chum had managed to do.

Studying… secret show… studying… secret show… The debate raged in my head.

Metric, introduced to le chum by his cousin, introduced to me by le chum, is, according to Wikipedia, a Canadian New Wave/indie rock band. Metric’s signature sound is the unexpected, the lovely discordant, the mocking, the haunting fun. Although the band consists of vocalist Emily Haines (who also plays the synthesizer), guitarist James Shaw, bassist Josh Winstead and drummer Joules Scott-Key, only Haines and Shaw were performing at last night’s show. A show consisting of only a piano, an acoustic, and two voices appears to beg for an atmosphere of simplicity and relaxation, and yet the very fact that there was so little excess noise permitted the raw sound of Haines to take control. This was not a show high in volume. This was a show with consuming, incredible, unexpected sound that filled the room and made you lean in closer for more.

I love Metric’s albums, but this show offered something completely different, something completely, seductively addicting. So, forgive me for being late for my post, Creeter-readers, but let me assure you – my absence was well spent!

2 thoughts on “Come take my pulse, the pace is on a runaway train

  1. Secret shows are the best. Especially ones with “consuming, incredible, unexpected sound” that make you “lean in closer for more”. I wish I could have been there with you.

Leave a Reply

