Mix Tape Tuesday – Make ‘Em Laugh

I’ve lost track of whose turn it is for Mix Tape Tuesday, but it’s 5:30 in the morning and I still can’t fall asleep, so I’m going to go ahead and pass the time by offering you lovely Creeter Readers some of my favorite Folk Parody Duo Novelty Songs By Today’s Hottest Comedians. That is, stuff from Rhett & Link and Flight of the Conchords. R&L have their own internet show, and FotC their own HBO show. R&L are from North Carolina, and FotC from New Zealand. Both duos make their living by writing and singing hilarious songs.

Some examples of their mad dance skills:

And for the finale—what happens when someone tries to steal our beloved heroes’ thunder.

In Rhett & Link’s case it is an actual rapper who takes himself way too seriously:
(You have to click on this in order to watch each round of the Rap Battle.)

In Flight of the Conchords’ case it is a fictional rival band (played by Demetri Martin and Todd Barry):


(Unfortunately you can’t see it in this video because it stops too soon, but the Doggy Bounce guys become super famous and Bret & Jemaine lose their manager and only fan….until the next episode, when the Doggy Bounce guys are sued for plagiarism.)

And now it’s almost 7:30 in the morning and I’m still not tired. Oh well.

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “Mix Tape Tuesday – Make ‘Em Laugh

  1. Well, after a few times of just looking at the posted vids with my mouth hanging open, I finally opened up HipHopOpotomus. I guess now I’m going to have to watch a few more ;-)
    This is pure summertime stuff.

  2. Ha! I’ve been a fan of Flight of the Conchords for a while, and just discovered Rhett and Link a couple days ago, literally! I love that I’m channeling all your musical goodness now! How’s about Friday I come see you & ‘Manda? And bring my buddy Ray Stevens?

Leave a comment