Life Moves Pretty Fast…

…if you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

-Ferris Bueller

John Hughes died today. I feel as though my entire childhood has passed away, now. What with Farrah Fawcett, Michael Jackson, Ed McMahon—and now the creator of the Brat Pack.

I just watched Pretty in Pink again the other day, and was going to watch Ferris Bueller’s tonight. Now I’ll have a special reason to.

It’s just so bizarre to me. I mean, I know he hasn’t been in the media the past couple decades, and has pretty much disappeared from the movie-making business….but I guess I was secretly hoping maybe someday he would make a comeback and be the voice of the new generation again.

Long live Shermer, Illinois.

-The Basket Case

P.S. I’ll do a Mix Tape of songs from his movies (they always have the best soundtracks, my friends) soon.

2 thoughts on “Life Moves Pretty Fast…

  1. You’re right. Childhood…gone.

    Remember when I made my own wallet and I had that Ferris Bueller quote on the back? This news makes me want to spend all that time remaking it for me…and then one for you too. Maybe I will.

    Ferris Bueller quote: Not that I condone fascism, or any -ism for that matter. -Ism’s in my opinion are not good. A person should not believe in an -ism, he should believe in himself. I quote John Lennon, “I don’t believe in Beatles, I just believe in me.” Good point there. After all, he was the walrus. I could be the walrus. I’d still have to bum rides off people.

  2. I woke up Friday morning to the radio DJs voting upon their favourite John Hughes films. Hearing the names of some of my all-time favourite movies before I was even awake put me in such a good mood, and I made plans to have a Ferris-fest that night… then I got to work and found out why the DJs had been discussing Hughes.

    For me, it’s not so much childhood gone. It’s a more general sadness and worry: to quote Jack Johnson, “Where’d all the good people go?”

Leave a Reply

