Tweet this.

I don’t care for Twitter. In fact, I have been known to say that I despise Twitter and the idea of following a celebrity’s (or a friend’s) life to the point where you know they eat tacos without lettuce every third tuesday, or that they, for some reason, don’t like short sleeves (the latter one is real, and is an actual tweet (how I hate that word, unless you’re singing Rockin’ Robin, of course)) from Larry King.

I would like you all to know, however, that I now have a twitter account. I don’t tweet, of course. I’m still highly against being that connected to someone’s everyday goings on. But I have it for awesome stuff like CNN!! I get news updates sent to me because I subscribed to their Twitter! How flippin’ awesome is that?!

If I did twitter, this is probably what the last month of me not posting here would have looked like:

AUGUST 14TH
Broke my arm today. Note to self: Do not stand on shallow mat-domes at work.
ER doctor says it’s the ulna, one of the two bones in the wrist.
X-rays are bitchin’.

AUGUST 15TH
Arm still hurts. The splint they put me in is really heavy, and now I have to shower with a garbage bag wrapped around it.

AUGUST 17TH
Saw the doctor today. He referred me to another doctor that specializes in the upper arm. First doctor says I might have to have surgery.

AUGUST 19
Saw the other doctor. He gave me the option of a reset of the bone and 8 weeks in two different casts, or surgery with a recovery time of approximately 4 weeks, a likely better outcome, and a gnarly scar. I obviously opted for surgery.

AUGUST 20TH
Had pre-op today. I wish they had told me when I got there that I was going to have to pee in a cup. I would have waited to pee instead of going 10 minutes before my name got called, then having to drink 2 bottles of water and waiting an extra 30 minutes and then having to pee 4 other times while I was there. That would have been helpful.

AUGUST 21ST
Girl Scout Leadership Retreat this weekend. Kelly’s wedding on Saturday. Busy busy busy. Must take along my pain meds.

AUGUST 26TH
Surgery today! Wish me luck!

AUGUST 27TH
Surgery went well. I now have a t-shaped titanium plate in my arm. My whole right arm is numb and feels like dead weight. On lots of pain medication. Laura’s here to hang out and get things for me. She’s a great friend.

AUGUST 28TH

Got new x-rays of my arm and the plate. I talked the nice lab techs into letting me have a copy for free. Carlos is the bomb.

AUGUST 31ST
My arm hurts like a bitch.

SEPTEMBER 1ST
School started today. Glad for something to do (since I’ve been out of work since “the incident”), but bummed that I can’t write anything and now have to tote around my very heavy computer.

SEPTEMBER 9TH
Stitches came out today. I thought it was going to hurt, but it didn’t hurt at all. No more splint, just a carpel tunnel syndrome wrist brace. Yay for finger mobility! Still not allowed to get it wet, though.

SEPTEMBER 12TH
Made a list today of things to do when my arm heals: 1) become an artist 2) decorate and update my calendar and 3) carve at least three pumpkins.
It’s a work in progress, but that’s what I have so far.

SEPTEMBER 13TH
I kinda gripped a pencil today! Woot!

SEPTEMBER 14TH
Physical therapy today. Got to stick my arm in a whirlpool jacuzzi thing full of warm, disinfecting water. Very nice.
Took a shower today with no garbage bag! Got to clean my arm. Such relief.

Anyhow…sorry it’s been so long since my last post. School…arm…laziness…you know, the norm.

An entire picture diary of “the incident” to come, once it is complete with a healed scar.

Have a great day!
Erinternally broken. Literally.

2 thoughts on “Tweet this.

Leave a Reply

