One thing I can tell you is you got to be free

Three things. That’s all I’m gonna write about right now. I promise.* In order of happenstance:

1. I am going to be a bridesmaid this weekend. My friend was going to be married in April, then February, and yesterday morning she called and said it’s this Sunday. Last minute celebrations are my favorite! There were some problems (read: full-on scratching each other’s eyes out) between the bride’s mother and the groom’s sister over what will be worn at the wedding. So the bride and groom said, “Screw you guys. We’re just getting married this weekend because we don’t give a damn.” My friend said she and her fiancé are happy, so I’m all for it. Certainly makes my weekend a whole lot more exciting than I had originally planned.

2. Two of my short short stories (technically flash fiction) have been accepted by the Fine Arts Center of Hot Springs to be published in The Short List next month. I will attend a book signing in December, where I (along with the other authors) will be presented with a check for our respective stories. Not bad for 149 words.

3. I’m in the process of making a Mix Tape with short story accompaniment. While trying to fall asleep last night, I was listening to my iPod and wondering how pop and rock musicians of the late 1960s would have heard contemporary songs. Not how does Paul McCartney feel about Arcade Fire, but how would he have received their song “Wake Up” if someone had played it for him in 1967? These kinds of thoughts often come to me when I’m in my music reverie, and last night I decided to write a narrative (I don’t think it will turn into any sort of stand alone short story) of introducing contemporary songs (via my iPod, which would be mind-blowing enough) to my favorite musicians in 1969. When I’ve finished, I’ll upload the Mix Tape of the contemporary songs, as well as one or two of the subject’s songs so you might understand the connection. I chose that particular year (1969) because it was on the eve of a new decade, when hard rock was just barely coming into the popular scene, and that time in general because it’s one of my favorites, plus maybe in that drug-induced haze my subjects would feel more inclined to accept whatever futuristic technology I throw at them. I’m done with run-on sentences for now.

-Rachel

*I bet you thought I was lying, didn’t you?

5 thoughts on “One thing I can tell you is you got to be free

  1. 1. As far as I’m concerned, that’s a good way to deal with that kind of drama.
    2. Awesome! I guess I’ll have to pick up a copy.
    3. Sounds interesting.

  2. 1. Same dynamic as my most interesting Thanksgiving. His folks said, “Here”. My folks said, “Here”. We said, “Chicago. Just because.”
    We stayed at the downtown Y and ate dinner at a Greek restaurant which was happy to have customers. Think “A Christmas Story”. I met ouzo.

    2. Congratulations and hooray!

    3. 1969. Drug-induced haze. Really? (grin)

Leave a Reply

