Mix Tape Tuesday – Good For What Ails Ya

I was supposed to spend today going through boxes and carefully deciding which things to pack for my move on Thursday. Instead I spent the day going through different boxes and frantically trying to rescue my childhood.

A pipe burst and flooded our garage, which is our storage area. So now, after several hours of drying off artwork, tapes, records and CDs, I’m not in the best of moods. We managed to salvage my dad’s art, which is absolutely fantastic, but a lot of his remaining samples of previous work are ruined, as well as several years’ worth of his artists and illustrators catalogues.

Besides my dad’s art, the most upsetting losses to me are the VHS tapes. Because they didn’t just stay in a dusty box off in the garage, forgotten in the digital age. That was where we kept them, but they were still in use. I regularly went through those boxes and pulled them out to watch again. In fact, I watched most of them within the past year, and several just these last couple weeks at Christmas time.

So today I pulled them out of their cases (which was extremely difficult, since the cases were completely soaked and stuck to the tape most stubbornly) and wiped them best I could, setting them out to dry. I’m not sure why I went through all the trouble, because I know they’ll never work again. But I couldn’t bear to just let them sit there, sad and cold.

Some of the videos I can probably find again on DVD. Some, however, were irreplaceable bits of my past. Like the one episode of Max Headroom that we taped. It’s those television recordings I’ll really miss, because I liked to watch the vintage commercials as well. And the odds are very slim that anyone is going to release Max Headroom on DVD.

“I’m sorry for your loss and everything, Rachel, but what’s this got to do with Mix Tape Tuesday?” you ask.

Well, Creeter Readers, only five days into it and already 2010 is turning out to be a crap year. I need a little something to relax, and Dr. Dog has never failed me before. I’ve already been listening to their latest album (2008’s Fate) for a couple months, now, but it’s still just as great as ever and I want to offer it to you. I highly recommend picking up any Dr. Dog album, but Fate is particularly outstanding. Every song on there is five stars, and each track is so chill it’s hard not to relax while listening.

And although it’s five days late, Happy New Year!

Mix Tape Tuesday – Good For What Ails Ya (Dr. Dog <3)

(Press “Pop-Out Player” to listen while doing whatever else it is you do on the Interwebs.)

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “Mix Tape Tuesday – Good For What Ails Ya

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry. I remember what it was like trying to rescue stuff after Tropical Storm Allison – and drying things that we knew would be tossed, but we still had to try. It doesn’t make a bit of difference how something gets destroyed. Gone is gone and it isn’t fun.

    Sorry you’re year’s gotten off to such a lousy start. Let me run right over to your next post and see if things are any better ;-)

Leave a Reply

