Sharlto Copley, be my South African boyfriend

Go see The A-Team movie. Right now. Do it. I’ll wait.

I know, right?

Exceeded my expectations. I admit my expectations were relatively low, but I was still incredibly excited to see it because:
1.) The A-Team is the most fantastically ridiculous show ever produced. And I love it for that reason.
2.) Murdock is a crazy helicopter pilot. And I love him for that reason.
3.) The movie came out on my birthday. For some reason I took that as a sign.

I won’t go into a detailed review because, well, I’m lazy. (As if you couldn’t already tell my laziness by the fact that I haven’t posted in several months.) But I will say that Sharlto Copley, who plays my beloved Murdock, is easily the best part of the movie. He’s the closest to the original character out of the four, but he plays it in such an effortless way that you don’t think of him as imitating Dwight Schultz. Liam Neeson is a great Hannibal, too. All four did a great job, in fact, and that’s where the movie works. It would completely fall apart if you didn’t have the insane chemistry among the A-Team.

Because what you have to realize about the A-Team (in both the show and the movie) is that, even though Murdock’s the only one who’s been diagnosed, they are all crazy. Their so-called plans (which invariably “come together” in a most glorious fashion) are based entirely on chance. Every step of their missions can succeed or fail simply by luck. And they love it. So you love them for it.

Maybe I’m just being nostalgic, maybe I’m just swayed by my affection for Murdock and Sharlto Copley (seriously, watch him in District 9 for another amazing performance), but I enjoyed every second of the movie. Even the overhanded “See what we did here! Look! Look at the twist we pulled!” explanations at the end were completely fitting for a movie about the A-Team.

All right, kiddos. I’m out for now. But I’ll be back soon. I promise.

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “Sharlto Copley, be my South African boyfriend

  1. I’ve always wanted Liam Neeson to be my dad, and if that were the case, Sharlto would definitely be the fun uncle (I can dream, right?)

Leave a Reply

