Time May Change Me, But I Can’t Trace Time

What does it say that my last post was in remembrance of Lou Reed?

And just a few posts before that was my tribute to Captain Beefheart.

I suppose the only thing that dusts off the Creeter QWERTY is an influential musician passing through to the starry expanse.

And, glory-be, David Bowie was as influential as they come.

Announcement of his death on January 10th left me so thunderstruck that I had no words for several days. I sat by and read friend after friend pour out their hearts and tears. I read article after article praise his career and character. All I could do was passively click “Like” and silently weep.

No, that’s not all I could do. I also cranked up the volume.

Hunky Dory (1971) is, by my standards, one of the top 10 albums of all time. It’s hard to choose a best David Bowie album, it’s true, but Hunky Dory just takes it all to the next level for me.

Everything from his deliciously passionate vocals, to the wide range in music style honoring his favorite musicians, to the ever-present message that it’s not only okay to be an outsider – it’s good, it’s healthy, it’s necessary. You, in being abnormal, are normal. Love yourself. You are the future.

One of my favorite tracks is the song Bowie wrote upon receiving news he would become a father. “Kooks” is so simple and beautiful; the perfect song from a parent to child. I cannot wait for my husband and I to sing it to our baby when we have one.

I suppose it really is fitting that Lou Reed brought me back last time, and David Bowie brings me back now. This time I plan to stick around for a while.

Let’s take you out on a track from Hunky Dory that Bowie wrote for Lou Reed. In fact, the two of them performed it together on stage for Bowie’s 50th Birthday Bash in 1997.

Goodnight,

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “Time May Change Me, But I Can’t Trace Time

  1. Well, my goodness. It’s so nice to have a post from you in my mailbox. It’s hard to believe so much time has passed — but of course, I still feel as though it’s New Year’s Day, so there’s that.

    It’s interesting that David Bowie should have brought you out of retirement. I just mentioned to someone today that, when the news of his death hit, I had to turn to Wikipedia to find out something about him. I knew the name, of course, but I couldn’t think of a single song he was responsible for, and wasn’t aware of ever listening to him. As it turned out, he really began achieving some fame around 1975, when I was working in West Africa. That helps to explain a lot. By the time I got back, I was busy with grad school and other sorts of things, and was listening to a lot of bluegrass, jazz, Fleetwood Mac, and Tower of Power.

    But I understand your feelings. When I got the news that Glen Frey had died, it was my turn to shed a few tears. I rolled across country to the likes of “Take It Easy” — one of the best driving songs in the world.

    I’m delighted to see you, really. I still get a lot of hits on my blog post about your friend who snowboarded in the chicken suit. I may have to bring that one back and spiff it up a little, given the way this election cycle is going. :-)

  2. Welcome, Linda!
    Not that you would need his or anyone else’s approval, but David Bowie would be quite satisfied with the fact that you did not know much about him and that you stuck with jazz. He was a big fan of jazz himself, and he always said that following fame was a fool’s errand. Instead it was important to make the music you wanted to make. I’m trying to remember the exact quotation, but I can’t remember where I saw it; basically, even if you look back on your songs and say, this one was good, this one sucked – if you always expressed what you needed to, then it was worth it.
    Glen Frey was another loss so close after the last. It feels like there are too many these days, but I suppose that is how it must seem to us when the people who leave are giants who affect whole industries, and we have instant access to information.
    I’m glad you have come by to leave a comment. Sara will be happy to know the chicken suit is still out there making its rounds.
    See you again soon!

Leave a Reply

