Mix Tape Tuesday – <3

Home is where the heart is. So I guess that means, today, The Rum Creeters is your home.

I needed a quick playlist for today (I wish I could come up with something more fun, but I’m a busy gal these days) so once again I used the “all these songs have a certain word in the title” method, which iTunes makes so easy.

I’ll try to make this entry brief, both for my time writing it and your time reading it. We’ll see how well I accomplish that goal…

Well, I would have been done with this entry an hour ago, if it weren’t for the infernal internet being so painstakingly slow. Unfortunately, because of the painstakingly slow internet, my browser keeps shutting down every time I try to upload the songs. So I’m going to try to get that done tomorrow, as soon as possible. I apologize for the delay in getting the actual music to you, but you can at least take a peek at what I’ve got in store:

1. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band – The Beatles. Good opening track, of course. Sgt. Pepper’s was my favorite album for a long time. It’s pretty good, you should have a listen sometime. You know, just to blow your mind a little bit.

2. The Shape of My Heart – Noah & the Whale. Found out about this great London band because their song “5 Years Time” was in some car commercial here in the States (I will probably put that song on another Mix Tape sometime, because I hearts it a-real good).

3. Celebrating Hearts Aligned – Half-Handed Cloud. Another mini-treat from John Ringhofer and friends! This one is from his album Halos & Lassos.

4. Heartbreaker – Metronomy. Oh, geek rock, you amuse me! I’m not sure why I like this band so much, but I think it might have to do with the bright colours in their video for the song Radio Ladio.

5. Sentimental Heart – She & Him. She = Zooey Deschanel. Him = M. Ward. Love abounds.

6. Don’t Phunk With My Heart – Black Eyed Peas. Haha.

7. I Am Trying To Break Your Heart – Wilco. Back in high school, Ebo (that’s Erin, by the by) came to my house one day when I was terribly sick and gave me a bunch of awesome albums. Yankee Hotel Foxtrot was one of them. I love Ebo.

8. Melt Your Heart – Jenny Lewis & the Watson Twins. Another from Rabbit Fur Coat. Not my favorite on the album (I’m more partial to “Rise Up With Fists!!” and “The Big Guns”), but it fits the theme and it’s still a good one.

9. Scatterheart – Björk. This is from Selmasongs, which is sort of a soundtrack to the saddest movie I’ve ever seen, Dancer in the Dark. This song is probably from the second saddest scene, too. Björk actually plays the main character Selma. You really have to see the movie to appreciate the full impact of the songs. I’d like to see a soundtrack of the songs as they were in the film, since Selmasongs generally doesn’t have the other actors singing their parts, some of the lyrics were changed to avoid plot spoilers, and a couple of the songs aren’t even on it. Still a great album, though. If you don’t mind **serious plot spoilers**, then click here to see the song in its full glory. If you do mind them, then rent the movie.

10. Heart and Soul – T’Pau. This song is insanely awesome. I didn’t even realize it until after I’d vaguely listened to it a few times, not really paying attention, since it was on a mix of 80s songs someone gave me and I was more interested in the other songs I was familiar with. But when it kicks into gear it’s well worth listening to.

11. The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts – Sufjan Stevens. This one’s from Illinois. Oh, yea hooray for Superman!

12. My Foolish Heart – The Legendary Jim Ruiz Group. Fun times.

13. Heartattack and Vine – Tom Waits. One of his more bluesy songs from the earlier days.

14. When Did Your Heart Go Missing – Rooney. I think this is a live in-studio version from a radio show, but I can’t remember which one. Anyway, Robert Schwartzman’s cheesy speaking towards the end always makes me happy. I like the retro vibe Rooney has whenever they throwback to their major influences, The Everly Brothers and The Cars.

15. Irish Blood, English Heart – Morrissey. I hope Janel sees this, because even though I’m sure she has this song already, I like to give a shout out to my peeps.

16. I Ain’t Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore – The Young Rascals. Eventually they became just The Rascals. But I think I like the Young. Anyway, vocal groups from the 1960s make me happy.

17. Heart of the Sword – Noriyuki Asakura. Theme song to Rurouni Kenshin. Seriously rock-awesome.

18. Lonely Hearts Still Beat the Same – The Research. Don’t know much about this band, but I like the song.

19. Harvester of Hearts – Rufus Wainwright. From Want One (the second album of the collection, Want Two, was released the next year, but I still don’t have it).

20. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (reprise) – The Beatles. Yea, bookends! As a kid I tried to convince my friends to learn this song (the reprise version) so we could perform it out of the flatbed of a truck at our “carnival” that we intended to charge neighbors a dime to attend. Never did pull off that carnival. Nor did I get my friends to learn this song. But we did take cans of soda from our houses and sell them for 50¢ each. (Sorry, mom.)

-Rachel D. (the D stands for Daaaaaaaaaaaang tired)

============================================

Edit: Here it is, my lovelies! Once again, sorry for the delay. Enjoy.

Mix Tape Tuesday #5 – <3

============================================

3 thoughts on “Mix Tape Tuesday – <3

  1. Okay…so much to say about this playlist! First…it’s AMAZING! Maybe my favourite that you’ve made…and you’ve made a lot for me in the past. But any mix tape that has Bjork on it makes it just that much better.

    Also…”Rise Up With Fists” is my favourite from JLATWT too!

    And…You don’t have Want Two? Well I don’t have Want One. I think we should burn and make a mailing date. What do you think?

    Anyway…great list. Thanks!

    And I love you too.

  2. Just finished listening, and it was again a great mix tape list. Heartattack and Vine is one of my favorite Tom Waits songs, and Sentimental Heart is so awesome.

    My favorite new songs have to be “I am trying to Break Your Heart” by Wilco, and “Heart of the Sword” was sweet.

    I also decided to make a contribution in tribute to this lovely list, as one of my favorite recent songe happens to have ‘heart’ in the title. :)

    Kevin

Leave a comment